Book Summary: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë Book Cover

Wuthering Heights is a novel written by Emily Brontë and published in 1847. The novel tells the story of Heathcliff, a young orphan who is adopted by the wealthy Earnshaw family and raised with their son Hindley. The novel explores themes of love, revenge, and social class, and is set on the isolated Yorkshire moors.

The novel begins with Mr. Lockwood, a tenant of the neighboring Thrushcross Grange, visiting Wuthering Heights to rent a house on the estate. He meets the owner, Heathcliff, who is a mysterious and reclusive figure. Heathcliff is described as having a dark complexion and a reserved demeanor, and he is clearly disdained by the other residents of the estate.

Chapter 2: The Earnshaw Family

The novel then flashes back to 15 years earlier, when Hindley Earnshaw brings home Heathcliff, a young boy he found wandering the streets of Liverpool. Hindley’s father, Mr. Earnshaw, is initially resistant to the idea of taking in Heathcliff, but he eventually relents. Heathcliff quickly becomes friends with Hindley and his sister Catherine, but their relationship is complicated by the fact that Heathcliff is a servant, not a member of the family.

Chapter 3: The Garden

The novel continues with the story of Heathcliff and Catherine’s childhood friendship. They are both passionate and intense, and their relationship is marked by both love and conflict. They are often seen playing together in the garden, and their games are described as wild and untamed, reflecting their own natures.

Chapter 4: The Grange

As Heathcliff grows older, he becomes increasingly resentful of his position as a servant in the Earnshaw household. He is particularly jealous of Hindley’s relationship with Catherine, and he begins to see her as his only true friend and ally. When Hindley goes away to college, Heathcliff and Catherine’s relationship deepens, but it is also marked by conflict and jealousy.

Chapter 5: The Death of Mr. Earnshaw

When Mr. Earnshaw dies, Hindley returns home and begins to drink heavily. He becomes increasingly cruel to Heathcliff, and he even tries to force him to marry his sister Isabella. Heathcliff refuses, and he runs away to the streets of Liverpool, where he spends several years living as a homeless beggar.

Chapter 6: The Resurrection

Years later, Heathcliff returns to Wuthering Heights, now a wealthy and successful man. He has changed his name and his appearance, and he is determined to take revenge on Hindley and Catherine for their mistreatment of him. He begins to manipulate the situation at Wuthering Heights, and he eventually succeeds in driving Hindley to drink himself to death.

Chapter 7: The Funeral

At Hindley’s funeral, Heathcliff reveals his true intentions to take revenge on the Earnshaw family. He tells Catherine that he has always loved her, but she rejects him and runs away to Thrushcross Grange. Heathcliff is left alone at Wuthering Heights, but he is determined to continue his revenge.

See also  Book Summary: Dune by Frank Herbert

Chapter 8: The Visit

Heathcliff’s revenge takes a dark turn when he begins to manipulate the relationships of those around him. He encourages Isabella to marry Edgar Linton, even though she is in love with Heathcliff. He also convinces his own son, Linton, to marry Catherine’s daughter, Cathy, in order to gain control of the Linton estate.

Chapter 9: The Death of Heathcliff

In the end, Heathcliff’s revenge is ultimately destructive. He dies alone and unloved, and his legacy of revenge and hate is passed down to his son, Linton. The novel ends with the hope that the next generation will be able to break free from the cycle of revenge and find love and forgiveness.


Wuthering Heights is a powerful and haunting novel that explores the darker aspects of human nature. Through the story of Heathcliff and Catherine, Brontë shows us the destructive power of revenge and the importance of forgiveness and love. The novel is a timeless classic that continues to resonate with readers today.

Interested in reading the whole book?

Buy the book “Wuthering Heights” on Amazon

Buy the book on Amazon

Check out my youtube channel to listen to new book summaries everyday.


Please consider donating if my site has helped you