Book Summary: Loving What Is by Byron Katie

Loving What Is by Byron Katie Book Cover

Loving What Is is a book written by Byron Katie, an American speaker and author who has introduced a method of self-inquiry called “The Work.” The book is a collection of stories and examples that illustrate how the practice of The Work can be applied to everyday life situations, leading to freedom from stress and suffering.

Chapter 1: The End of Suffering

In the first chapter, Katie introduces the concept of The Work and how it can be used to question and challenge the thoughts that cause stress and suffering. She explains that by questioning our thoughts, we can begin to see them for what they are – simply thoughts – and let them go.

Chapter 2: The Work

In this chapter, Katie provides a step-by-step guide to The Work, which involves four questions and a turnaround. The questions are designed to help us identify and question our thoughts, while the turnaround is a way to flip the thought around and see it from a different perspective.

Chapter 3: The Mind

In this chapter, Katie discusses the nature of the mind and how it works. She explains that the mind is like a computer, constantly processing information and generating thoughts. However, she also points out that the mind is not always accurate or reliable, and that we can become trapped by our own thoughts.

Chapter 4: The Body

In this chapter, Katie explores the connection between the mind and the body. She explains that our physical symptoms are often a result of our thoughts and beliefs, and that by questioning these thoughts, we can begin to release physical tension and discomfort.

Chapter 5: The World

In this chapter, Katie looks at how our thoughts and beliefs about the world can impact our experience of it. She explains that by questioning our thoughts about the world, we can begin to see it in a new light and let go of any negative beliefs that may be holding us back.

Chapter 6: The Work in Action

In this chapter, Katie provides several examples of how The Work can be applied to different situations, including relationships, work, and health. She also provides a list of common stressors and how to use The Work to address them.

See also  Book Summary: The Body Code by Dr. Bradley Nelson


Overall, Loving What Is is a powerful book that provides a practical tool for anyone looking to reduce stress and suffering in their lives. Byron Katie’s method of self-inquiry is simple yet profound, and has the potential to transform our relationship with our thoughts and beliefs. Whether you are new to The Work or an experienced practitioner, this book is sure to inspire and challenge you.

Interested in reading the whole book?

Buy the book “Loving What Is” on Amazon

Buy the book on Amazon

Check out my youtube channel to listen to new book summaries everyday.


Please consider donating if my site has helped you