Book Summary: The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Alex Haley

The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Alex Haley Book Cover

The Autobiography of Malcolm X is a book written by Alex Haley and based on the life of Malcolm X, an African-American Muslim minister and human rights activist. The book was first published in 1965, just a few months after Malcolm X was assassinated. It is considered a classic in American literature and has been praised for its insight into the black experience in America.

Chapter Summaries

1. The Early Years: Malcolm X was born in Omaha, Nebraska in 1925. His father was a Baptist minister and his mother was a homemaker. Malcolm was a bright student and dreamed of becoming a lawyer. However, when his father was killed in a streetcar accident, his mother became mentally ill and Malcolm was placed in a series of foster homes. He eventually dropped out of school and turned to a life of crime.

2. The Hustler: Malcolm X moved to Boston and became involved in the underworld of drugs and prostitution. He was arrested and sent to prison for burglary. While in prison, he became interested in the Nation of Islam, a black nationalist group that preached separation from white America. He joined the group and became a devoted follower of its leader, Elijah Muhammad.

3. The Minister: After being released from prison, Malcolm X became a minister in the Nation of Islam. He was a fiery orator and quickly rose through the ranks of the organization. He became known for his fierce criticism of white America and his advocacy for black nationalism. He also became involved in several high-profile cases, including the defense of the “Chicago Eight” during the 1968 Democratic National Convention.

4. The Split: In 1963, Malcolm X left the Nation of Islam after a dispute with Elijah Muhammad. He founded his own organization, the Muslim Mosque Inc., and continued to preach black nationalism. He also began to move away from the more extreme views of the Nation of Islam and began to embrace a more inclusive form of Islam.

5. The Pilgrimage: In 1964, Malcolm X made a pilgrimage to Mecca, where he was moved by the sight of Muslims of all races worshiping together. He began to reject the separatist views of the Nation of Islam and embraced a more inclusive form of Islam. He also began to criticize the Vietnam War and advocate for a more peaceful approach to foreign policy.

6. The Assassination: On February 21, 1965, Malcolm X was assassinated by three members of the Nation of Islam. He was shot while speaking at a rally in New York City. His death was a tragic loss for the civil rights movement and he is remembered as a courageous leader who fought for justice and equality.

See also  Book Summary: Good Morning, Monster by Catherine Gildiner


The Autobiography of Malcolm X is a powerful and moving account of the life of a man who fought for justice and equality in a world that was often hostile to his ideas. Malcolm X was a complex and flawed figure, but his legacy continues to inspire generations of activists and scholars. His story is a reminder that even in the darkest of times, there are those who will fight for a better world. The Autobiography of Malcolm X is a must-read for anyone interested in the civil rights movement and the struggle for justice and equality in America.

Interested in reading the whole book?

Buy the book “The Autobiography of Malcolm X” on Amazon

Buy the book on Amazon

Check out my youtube channel to listen to new book summaries everyday.


Please consider donating if my site has helped you